Almost there…

Everyday will not always be sunny, but one thing is for sure; whether it’s raining cats and dogs or there is a tsunami, the bad weather won’t last always. Storms do pass. This is what I tell myself when I don’t want to get out of bed and face the unknown because I feel beat up and beat down by life. Don’t get me wrong, simply affirming that doesn’t instantly give me the jolt of “happy go lucky” energy and attitude, but it does work its way through my core because I put it in the atmosphere; I have spoken the words and given them life, and destination to my ear gate.

Usually when things get rough, I isolate myself. Some loved ones think this is unhealthy, but I choose to go to God with my pains and prayers for peace and direction because what I need, I feel only He can provide. This is my way and my life. My way involves me stepping back and away to look at my life and situation. I take this time of so-called “isolation” to ask the important questions: “Is there anything I could have done differently?” I think about the people around and also ask “Why are you here?” and “What is your purpose?” Gaining insight takes some time and there is nothing unhealthy about seeking peace and clarity.

Often, I do forget the power of venting and the amount of weight that lifts from the shoulders when you give in and shed that tear with someone who genuinely loves you. Note I used the word “genuine”.

Answer me this: Is it an act of “fakeness” when someone chooses to not shout to the world that they’re in the middle of a whirlwind, if sharing doesn’t calm the storm? No.

Sometimes, it’s gonna be some rain and when my tornados strike I will continue to do what I do best and that is looking to the sky. I say “Let it come down”, because the truth is that the storm will pass and when it passes I’ll know I’m almost there. Where is there? “There” is closer to the promise than I was yesterday.  So, If you are amidst a storm…don’t fret. Grab an umbrella and promising shelter and Go Get It!

Leave a Reply

