Q Speaks Drops the F-Bomb (Food, Fun, Fashion, Family, Friends and Faith)

After a long rambunctious week, daily back to back meetings, forgetting to eat lunch because you are walking around with Starbucks’ Pike Place Roast (medium blend) filling you up via an IV drip, what else what should a girl get into? It’s Friday the 13th and I don’t do luck: good or bad. That’s not how I roll; I’m thinking… Call up a friend and add food and fun to the menu.

The weather in the D has been super frigid, leaving many dreaming of traveling to warm, far away and/or not-so-far-away places. So, being the creative, practical bandits that we are we toured different dimensions and countries within a super small radius.

Stop #1: Firebird Tavern (GreekTown)
No surprise that this place is warm and attractive in architecture, sitting on the corner of Monroe and Brush St. Why not a surprise? Because the owners are the bomb.com. Formerly owners of Pulse Detroit on Broadway, these guys have hit the nail on the head with this spot. So, when I arrive my friend is at the bar and I am ready to get the order going. I blanketed my norm by adding cranberry juice to my Ketel One on the rocks with a lime wedge; my partner in crime ordered an Our Fashion (Old Fashion with FireBird Tavern twist). The drinks were refreshing and what I call a “pleasant surprise” because they sneak you with that friendly buzz. Result: you order a few. Now, we must have some “snackage”. We order the super tasty pimento cheese that is served with crostini and a light hot sauce and a girl must have fries. But these were not your ordinary fries, thanks to the condiments that you pair with them: ketchup and a truffle mayo that changed my life!

I give it a “try this place, you’ll find something that suits you.” I will be returning for the amazing wings, more drinks and to watch my basketball games on one of the many TVs. I might even throw a dart or two. I’m thinking, maybe another book release. I used their previous spot for my first one, and this location has an upstairs that holds a crowd capacity of 150, a super kitchen and catering options. Yep, I’ll be back. Stop in and check it out, if you haven’t already and tell me what you think. Thanks Tony for the warm welcome back. This is how you take it up a notch. Good job!

Now, it’s time to keep it moving because fun with friends isn’t official without Margaritas…

Stop #2: Mexican Village
Feeling full from our carb indulgence, it’s time for sweet and sassy sipping. We take this party to another country, sort of. We head to the Mexican Village on Bagley and order 2 liters Margaritas: 1 Strawberry and 1 original. Yaasssss! Carafes of goodness! This is the one spot we go to where we are never disappointed.

Friendly staff, great food and MARGARITAS! Although we weren’t hungry, we ordered our usual yummy chicken and cheese quesadillas that are served with guacamole and sour cream, and chomped on the salsa and chips while we sipped and giggled ourselves red-faced. Warm in welcome and gentle on the pocketbook. I give it a “Get there whenever you can, you’ll enjoy it”.

The evening is winding down…

Stop #3: Pizza Papalis
So, it is time to bring it in. I have to go home with more goodies. I’m certain that before going to bed I will want another bite of goodness and a sip of something spectacular. I keep dry champagne chilling in the fridge, but want something awesome to pair it with as I fade to black while watching Agatha Christie’s Poirot. Ah ha! I call up Pizza Papalis and place an order for a veggie deep dish pizza and order it (+ shrimp). Yes, Lawd! We have a winner.

After a long and rambunctious week I end it on a great note and just be me, Q Speaks and dropped an F-Bomb (Food, Fun and Friends). Great time with a friend, awesome drinks and yummy bites work for me.

Life is short, so “fully” live it and drop an F-Bomb!
#IJQ

Leave a Reply

